Quote:
Originally Posted by PWL
A retouch of third would be an appeal for the defense would it not? Yes, if he has run back past the bag I would require the runner to retouch the base.
|
Why?
Quote:
If a runner runs back past 2B into the right field territory and the ball is overthrown, do you simply let him run to 3B without retouching 2B?
|
Right field? Yeah - probably. Center field? No ... again - why. I would only require a retouch if he actually made progress toward the previous base. If he fell, or whatever, away from 3rd, but not toward 1st, I see no reason, logic, or rule to require him to touch 2nd again - he's already touched it, and has not "Passed" it in reverse.
Quote:
The same principle should apply here.
|
I agree with that - we disagree on the principle though.
Quote:
What part of running the bases in order do you not understand?
|
Look - I'm trying to be patient and non-insulting with you, but this sort of comment is the reason no one else deals with you. that was unnecessary.
Quote:
I don't need a casebook, this is pretty much textbook.
|
No, it's obviously not - and "because I said so" is not reason enough in my book. It's not just me, although the rest of the bunch that said R2 was not out for passing in the OP have stopped responding, probably because they have less patience than me ... (or possibly are just wiser than I in dealing with futility).