View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 09:19am
Scrapper1 Scrapper1 is offline
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Well in the OP, what was created was a false double foul. I quoted the rule and the case play to show that the refs DID NOT kick the rule. You shoot the FTs for the intentional technical foul, then you go back to the POI and shoot the 1 and 1.
Joe, this is NOT correct. As others have pointed out, part of the penalty for an intentional technical foul is possession of the ball (2 shots and the ball). So if the technical was for dead ball contact, then the refs kicked it by not awarding possession along with the 2 shots.

If the technical was for something that was SAID during the dead ball, then this is a direct technical (not intentional) and the situation was handled correctly.
Reply With Quote