View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 12:29pm
David B David B is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72
Let's say a coach is sitting on his bucket or chair and it's placed right outside the dugout opening in the fence in LBT.

1) What is the call (if any) if a thrown ball or pitch is prevented from going into DBT because of the coach and/or his seat?

2) What is the call (if any) if a fielder is prevented from catching a foul pop up because he got tangled up with the coach and/or his seat?


Please note FED and OBR differences since both rulebooks aren't too clear on the subject. I know FED has the clause about loose equipment, but would that apply here?

Thanks!
Common sense says keep them in the dugout.

But, if the play you described happened because you allowed it ...

1) If it hits the coach you might have a situation (depending on whether you determine it was intentional or not)

2) Same as #1

Now by rule you have options:

I don't have my book but it gives you the option of calling an (out), or returning runners etc.,

But I would only recommend that if you think it interfered with another play or was intentional.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote