View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 04:49am
Paddy Paddy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
That is an incorrect ruling.

If the run scores, the BR is out.
If BR comes back to bat, R1 goes back to 3B.
But you would never put R1 back on 3B and BR on 1B. AND it is the manager's decision, not the umpire.


2. If the batter-runner hits the ball and does not reach first base safely and
all other runners do not advance at least one base.
EFFECT: The manager has the option to take the result of the play, or
enforcement of obstruction by awarding the batter first base and advancing
all runners if forced.
Tony,
am I reading your post wrong or are you contradicting yourself.
You are talking about getting the batter back at bat in the beginning of you post, but that is not possible according to your own quote at the bottom.

My understanding is that its the managers choice what to do, but the batter will have completed his at bat at that moment.

So in this case the manager has one of two choices.
Number 1. Accept the out and let the run score or
Number 2. Batter gets first, Runner from first will get second and the runner on third will stay there.


Patrick
Reply With Quote