The purpose for the line capitalized by the OP is for this specific case:
R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st - single to the outfield. R1 scores, R2 misses 2nd and advances to 3rd. BR is subsequently put out. Then the defense appeals the miss at 2nd. In a normal case where BR had not been put out, the appeal at 2nd would be considered a force play, nullifying the run if that appeal was the 3rd out. In THIS case, with BR being put out, when the appeal is made at 2nd, R1 is no longer forced at 2nd (with no BR, she could theoretically return to first), thus the capitalized section of the rule is telling us that since the appealed base is not a forced base at the time of the appeal, it is not considered a force ... and the run DOES score.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Last edited by mcrowder; Tue Mar 06, 2007 at 10:39am.
|