
Mon Mar 05, 2007, 09:23am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibumgardner
1. Do you think that they would have called it differently if Henderson's elbow would have landed 3 inches to the left or right and Hansbrough could have stayed in the game (assuming no blood)? Should that (blood or player's responce to situation) be a factor to the type of foul that is called?
|
Yes.
NCAA A.R.5
Player A1 falls to the playing floor and is (a) bleeding or (b) doubled over in pain, holding his/her abdomen. Is the official permitted to use the monitor to determine if the conditions were a result of a fight? RULING: It is permissible for the official to use the monitor to determine if a fight occurred and who participated. In using the monitor, when the official ascertains that an opponent struck a player with the arms (elbows), hands, legs or feet, and if he/she concludes that the act was combative and flagrant, he/she shall deem it a fight. Consequently, the player shall be ejected and the fighting penalty invoked.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott
"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
|