From a biased observer:
Yes it was intentional by rule, but my experience in coaching is that a lot of room is granted in these late game situations by the officials.
The longhorn fans are mad at the official who administered the last free throw that Law missed on purpose, because they feel that he was still in the lane at the time the "shot" was taken and Atchley (#32 for Texas) couldn't get around the ref to block out the guy who ultimately got the rebound and the shot off at the buzzer. Any thoughts on this? The official was out in front of the backboard when he threw the ball to the shooter/Law for the free throw. Since we won, I don't care; just interested in knowing the procedure. Obviously it was a rare and smart play that caught everyone in burnt orange and white by surprise.
Thanks.
Go Horns!!!
Last edited by ATXCoach; Thu Mar 01, 2007 at 12:03pm.
|