Quote:
|
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
I see your logic, but the 2007 ASA PowerPoint I just quoted disagrees with that statement. It states that there is no call either way, under ASA rules (absent intent from either player).
|
I can't see how this could be correct. I understand that where you got it is about as credible source as possible, but surely this is a mistake. If the fielder is protected (as in a batted, non-deflected ball), then the runner has the obligation to avoid the fielder. Easy. If the fielder is NOT protected (as in the OP), then the fielder has an obligation to not be in the runner's basepath - period. No exception for chasing a deflected ball or errant throw or anything listed in the rulebook. I don't see any "train wreck" situation in the book at all other than the grounder being fielded right in front of the box by the catcher.