|
ASA: Deflected batted ball, interference must be intentional.
NCAA: Ricochet batted ball, interference must be intentional.
NFHS 2007: Initial Play rule does not include a subsequent fielder attempting to field a batted ground ball. Therefore no protection from interference.
In all three rule sets; if a batted ball touches F5 and rolls towards F6, and in attempting to field the ball F6 makes contact with R1, obstruction is the call. (Unless you somehow think that R1 deliberately ran into F6.)
Differences:
In ASA and NCAA if the ball bounds off F1, the same rules apply.
In NFHS, if a fielder is attempting to field a ball touched by F1 they are still making an Initial Play, thus are protected against interference.
In ASA and NCAA, if a line drive bounced off F5 into the air, the same rules apply.
In NFHS, if a line drive bounced off F5 into the air and F6 had a chance to make an out (catch a fly ball) then F6 is making an Initial Play and is protected against interference.
Clear as mud?
WMB
|