View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 27, 2007, 10:50am
LMan LMan is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Originally Posted by Blue37
Great question!

Remember we are talking NFHS in this thread.

Yes, the run scores and the batter is at 1st. But the offending team has not benefited from the application of "B", they have benefited from the wild pitch/passed ball.

Your question has made me wonder about the mechanics in this situation. If the batter already has one strike, and he steps out with both feet and the pitch is a wild pitch/passed ball, what are the proper mechanics? It seems the umpire needs to loudly announce both strikes so the players can react properly. If there is no one on base, the batter and the catcher are probably both standing there and the on-deck batter is retrieving the wild pitch. If there is a runner on base, the catcher is going after the ball, but the batter is most likely just standing there. Without an immediate loud announcement, similar to the checked swing on strike three, someone is at a disadvantage
I agree, the umpire would need to be loud and emphatic here. But this is veering close to a TWP....

OTU: what's the issue with "B?" Sure the batter can advance....but it would be a savvy batter who interpreted that situation correctly. They would probably be too busy whining about the third-strike call to run down the line.

a PB under any circumstances is an adv to the offense, a detriment to the defense...catcher shoulda dun bettah! That has nothing to do with the penalty strike, they are separate events.
Reply With Quote