View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 27, 2007, 10:00am
Blue37 Blue37 is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Originally Posted by Old Time Ump
Further to the above: If the penalty strike is the second strike on the batter and the legal pitch, the third strike, gets away from the catcher and rolls to the backstop can the batter proceed to first? And if he makes it and, say, another run scores, doesn't the offending team(player) wind up with an advantage under application of 'B'?
Great question!

Remember we are talking NFHS in this thread.

Yes, the run scores and the batter is at 1st. But the offending team has not benefited from the application of "B", they have benefited from the wild pitch/passed ball.

Your question has made me wonder about the mechanics in this situation. If the batter already has one strike, and he steps out with both feet and the pitch is a wild pitch/passed ball, what are the proper mechanics? It seems the umpire needs to loudly announce both strikes so the players can react properly. If there is no one on base, the batter and the catcher are probably both standing there and the on-deck batter is retrieving the wild pitch. If there is a runner on base, the catcher is going after the ball, but the batter is most likely just standing there. Without an immediate loud announcement, similar to the checked swing on strike three, someone is at a disadvantage
Reply With Quote