View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 23, 2007, 03:32pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
Not discussing your logic, too fluid for me.

A1 with ball, A1 tries or passes, can A1 get the ball and dribble or not? I don't recall a case play or rule including any verbiage about whether the ball hits the rim or not altering either sitch. It is all judgement (unless A1 has a dribble left).
The rule (2-Ball Location, iirc) is that a ball that hits the backboard is the same as the ball hitting the floor, except it's not a dribble if it hits a team's own bakboard. There is a case play where the ball hits the backboard -- A1 is allowed to recover the ball. A couple of years ago, the word "try" was entered into the case, in an unannounced change. The rim is not discussed in the case.
Reply With Quote