View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 05:27pm
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Originally Posted by Dakota
OK, why? Rule reference?

BR missed the base while being obstructed. BR is attempting to return to retouch and is no longer obstructed. Live ball appeal made prior to retouch.
Live ball appeal is just the same as if this runner DID touch, and was tagged after rounding. It's a play on a previously obstructed runner. Dead ball, award bases.

The more confusing (to some) case is if this particular runner was halfway to 2nd when F9 threw to first. Then, you have a dead ball, and 2nd base awarded. BUT - runner must retouch 1st once 2nd is awarded, or she is subject to a dead-ball appeal.
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote