View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 03:45pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump
I was noting that the score board in the upper right hand corner of the screen listed one out. I was waiting for the defensive player to throw in to get the runner at first out, presuming she was not tagged up already. I would have been incorrect, because you are right that the ball would be dead.

So that raises another question. Would R1, assuming she was not tagged up, be allowed to return to 1B, since she touched 2B, 3B and home after the ball was dead?
In ASA, yes. Runners may legally return to any number of bases during dead ball, so long as the umpire handles his mechanics properly, and allows the return, and not just award bases immediately. If the umpire announces the award, and the runner stops at 2nd without returning, then the appeal can be heard.

Also, and as a "by the way", I was given the response to the "extending the field" concern by Henry Pollard years ago. His statement was that if a fence was solid and permanent, it is legal for a fielder to climb up that fence; so all levels of baseball and softball have, in fact, extended the field upwards by allowing the fielder to reach from a spot above the field. Accordingly, he compared standing on the fence in its down position to being no more advantage than climbing a solid fence; and felt that the defense deserved to get an equivalent benefit, and not be penalized by the temporary fence.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote