Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Lemon
Speaking ASA, my bad.
|
Actually - no. This is a high school game, assumably under NFHS rules. As long as a temp fence is not completely horizontal when a fielder makes contact or steps on it, we have a legal catch. Then, of course she falls into DBT, so advance runners one base. (From last base achieved at time of dead ball)
Same answer Mike gave for ASA.
BTW - Dan - it is not unusual for HS scoreboards to be wrong. Unlike Rec fields with a press box and experienced attendant, most HS control panels (at least around here) are in the home side dugout run by a third-stringer or who ever the coach could recruit. I frequently flash the count or outs into the dugout or check run totals, as most players and coaches will look at the scoreboard to make playing decisions.
Quote:
So that raises another question. Would R1, assuming she was not tagged up, be allowed to return to 1B, since she touched 2B, 3B and home after the ball was dead?
|
Yes. However, if she was already past 2B at time of dead ball, then she would be awarded 3B, and not allowed to return to 1B, and called out on appeal for 3rd out.
Whatever the rule, it was an awesome catch. We never will know if the umpires got it right. The "talking heads" sure as h*ll were out in left field!
WMB