View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 02:26pm
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
This call (especially when made so late that runners had advanced whole bases, as opposed to immediately after the hit) is most definitely protestable. If coach did that, it could be fixed the way TD fixed it.

However, in agreeance with Ozzy - if TD inserted himself directly, without umpires calling him over in order to deal with a protest, TD was flat out wrong.

Then again - idiotic PU didn't know that a ball hitting the bag was a fair ball ... I'm sure he did not know that TD's shouldn't be inserting themselves into games.

Pat - did you tell him he was wrong (both on the call and on the positioning of his partner)?
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson