View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:29pm
cmathews cmathews is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
It is there because an originally ELIGIBLE receiver can become ineligible during the play, i.e. he goes out of bounds voluntarily. If the word "originally" was not there then we would have a conflict in the rules. That is because if the originally eligible becomes ineligible and then touches the pass , the only penalty is loss of down at previous spot.
Mike,
This is just nit picking here, but, in the NFHS (I know you guys in TX don't use it), there is a provision, somewhere, off the top of my head I am not sure where, that says eligible receivers at the snap remain eligible for the entire down.....however it is illegal to go out of bounds and come back in and be the first to touch the ball
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote