View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 11:06am
grantsrc grantsrc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by kd0254
A member of our crew sent out a little email last week with reference to the plays in the March 200 issue. The jist of what I see problem with is . . . .

Ineligible A7 is hit in the back with the ball at team A's 13 yardline after A1 passes it forward from the A8 towards him. I see illegal touching, but it is the off season so I'll wait for some replies.

The best part is the response my crew member got from referee magazine.

"The first part says A ineligibles can't touch a pass unless it's been touched by B first. In the plays, in (a) A is hit in the back. He didn't touch the ball; it touched him. No foul. In (b) and (c) he attempted to catch the ball; he touched it. That's a foul."

He didn't touch the ball, it touched him, thats a new one to me. We can make the distinction between touch, muff, catch, but Mr. Sterns statement seems very incorrect. Comments?
This was a change in Federation rules last year. A pass that contacts (as opposed to him contacting the pass) an ineligible receiver is not a foul. There has to be intent on behalf of any ineligble receiver to have illegal touching. If the pass hits him in the back, there is no intent by the ineligible receiver to touch the ball. See the following case book play:
7.5.13 Situation A:Ineligible receiver A2 is behind, in or beyond his neutral zone when a forward pass by A1: (a) accidentally strikes him in the back; or (b) is muffed by him; or (c) is caught by him.
Ruling:In (a), there is no infraction, but in (b) and (c), it is illegal touching. The acts in both (b) and (c) are intentional and not accidental as in (a).


It looks like Referee Mag took the play directly from the case book. Overall, Referee Mag does a pretty darned good job. Do they make mistakes? Yes. Should they make mistakes? No. But I think you can learn a lot from their publication. Way more than by not reading it. This is a perfect example. Their ruling doesn't seem right to you. You post it here. Not only does it encourage you to dig into the rule books a little (which I assume you and your crew members did prior to sending them an email), it encourages all those who read to get into their books as well. That's a good thing.

BTW- Correct me if I am wrong but this ruling looks to be true for NCAA as well. 7-3-11 says that the touching must be intentional for it to be illegal touching. Agreed?
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote