Thread: Flipping over
View Single Post
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 11:19pm
wildcatter wildcatter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 73
Rule 4 section 25 Held Ball
A held ball occurs when:
Art. 2: An opponent places his/her hand(s) on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try.

There should be no difference in the plays. In both, the defense stopped the offensive player from doing what he wanted to do. If the defender has a hand on the ball sufficient to tie up the offensive player, just call the held ball. That's the purpose and intent of the rule imo.


I always thought that the rules were written in that one hand was okay to cause a held ball in this situation because you normally shoot with one hand. But I guess that's not the case with a throw/pass.

As I'm in transition after the basket, Coach of Team A asks, "Isn't that a foul ?". I respond, "Coach, the contact didn't cause anything to happen".

That kind of comment can get you in a lot of trouble. I'd rather just be honest with the coach and say yes, i messed up, was surprised, and couldn't put the air in the whistle. Or if it's a dead ball and he asks, even a longer explanation (2 sentences instead of 1) - I was waiting for your player to hit the floor, and just so surprised your player stayed on his feet.

Actually, on second thought, as soon as he asked, i would have given him the stop sign, and warned him 5 times before T'ing him up with 30 seconds left in a close game.
Reply With Quote