View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 17, 2002, 11:10pm
oppool oppool is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Ok rule book states there must be 4 infielder 2 male 2 female and for appeal or infield fly rule they are the player that is position at the time of the pitch around the base. It states that you can not play 5 in the infield area which is basically what this question states. At the recent National and Metro umpire meeting the National staff did say if this was to happen the umpire should correct it. Merle Butler stated the 4 outfielder should be in a line in the outfield which pretty much kills having a rover position.

As stated though in the original post I do not find any rule on this that has an Effect if after a play happens. My thought is if the umpire doesnt catch it in time before a pitch it was just a play on situation but I am told that the correct answer to the play on the test is the C answer.

So I was wondering if my seeing eye dog is missing something or if something has been left out that I dont know about


Glen,

I dont have the 2002 casebook on play 1-72B that you stated does it say that there is a effect on the play and the coach has the option or not??


Thanks

Don

[Edited by oppool on Feb 17th, 2002 at 10:15 PM]
Reply With Quote