View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 15, 2007, 09:43am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho_ref
What about the sharp edge where the back of the board and the side edge of the board meet??? If it touches that sharp edge, is it not partially touching the back of the board. The ball will rebound towards the baseline. Is this out of bounds.

Here is a case: 7.1.2.

Question (i have only put in the B option fromt he case):
The ball strikes the side edge or top edge of the backboard or pases over the top of the backboard and the ball (came from a pass or try from the front or back of the plane of the backboard.) The ball does not touch any suppporting braces.

Answer:
The ball remains live if it touches the side edge or the top edge if it rebounds and comes down in front of the backboard.

Does this mean that if it comes down behind the backboard (rebounds towards the baseline) it is out of bounds.
If the ball is thrown from behind the backboard and hits an edge and rebounds boack towards OOB, then judge it to have hit the back of the backboard and be a violation. If it rebouonds toward the playing court, then judge it to have hit the side and it remains in play.

If the ball is thrown from the playing court side of the backboard, it's impossible (someone will now post about a curve ball or a giant fan) for it to hit the back of the backboard without previously hitting something else.
Reply With Quote