Thread: Runner
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 09:21am
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
A runner is on third and never leaves third .
The catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher who now has the ball in the circle but not on the rubber.
The runner now breaks for home .
Is this legal
It is a violation of the lookback rule in the sequence you describe; that the pitcher has possession of the ball in the circle before the runner leaves the base. If the runner starts while the ball is in the air to the pitcher, that is a legal advance.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote