View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 06:08pm
gibb2k5 gibb2k5 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Could someone quote 4-4-5, I'm at work.

I had this from an e-mail conversation with my friend.

4-12-3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.

Article 4: While the ball remains live, a loose ball always remains in control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal.

Article 5: Team control does not exist during a jump ball or the touching of a rebound, but is re-established when a player secures control.

The reason I said that it's not a backcourt violation is because a try for goal erases team control and back court/front court. Also, the player deflecting the ball doesn't re-establish team control as in 4-12-5. I guess the real question here is: Does a ball striking the backboard consistute a shot attempt regardless of intent?

We already know that if hits the rim, it's a shot attempt because the shot clock resets, but what about the backboard? I was looking for something definite other then a judgement call on what we guess the player was trying to do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
While I agree, it seems inconsistent with the play where A1 dribbles, ends the dribble, throws the ball off his own backboard, catches the ball and dribbles again (legal, even if the throw wasn't judged to be a try).
This case is what makes me believe that a ball striking the backboard is considered a shot regardless of intent.

Last edited by gibb2k5; Tue Feb 13, 2007 at 06:14pm.
Reply With Quote