View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 01:58am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four-Oh
The Fed (7-5-7) and NCAA (7-5.8) rules are worded similarly here. Essentially, a player taking the throw-in after a score has two options: to make a direct throw-in pass IB, or pass the ball to another teammate OOB.

According to NCAA Approved Ruling 155 (text on page BR-133 of the NCAA rules, following 7-5.8), the player in your situation has done neither and has, therefore, violated.

I don't know if there is a similar Fed case play to cover this (I'm sure someone will feel free to quote it if there is!), but I would think they would rule in the same way.
How is NCAA AR155 relevant to the play in the original post? They passed the ball in that play. In the play being discussed, the player just dropped the ball OOB and then stepped in-bounds without the ball. There is no violation that I know of under either NCAA or NCAA rules that says a player without the ball can't legally step inbounds and then go back OOB during an non- designated spot throw-in.
Reply With Quote