Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
Had the same situation here. Juco team comes in. School has "hired" work study students to do the book. Kid seems knowledgeable etc. At half when we came back out, the away coach approached. (I knew him from some camps when I had been coaching) He asked to speak with me. He asked if I had called a foul on his #15. I looked, and remembered the kid and foul because he was the only one wearing a headband on that team. I told him I did. He said that the "official" book didn't have any fouls on his #15 but his best player had 4. Also said that another player that should have had a foul didn't show it in the book - but admitted that his best player did have 3.
I told him that while I understood his frustration - and that I knew that I had called a foul on his #15 - I didn't know where they might have placed that foul. (like on his best player) Since I didn't have direct knowledge about where they placed it about the only thing I could do is to put a foul in the book for his #15 but I could not remove any from anyone else as I had no direct knowledge that the official scorekeeper had done anything wrong except not entering the foul for #15.
|
There was another thing you could have done. You could have checked the other teams book for total fouls on #15, if they where keeping their own book too. In other words, you got 3 sets of books. If the two non-official books matched and the official book didn't, I would change the official book to match the other two books.
#2.) If #15 was there best player, I would have done a little more investigation. Count the total team fouls with the number of fouls listed per player. If it was even, then some player got tagged a foul that shouldn't. This is in the absence of a 3rd book. Here's where I'm going to go into my judgement. It's rare for the best player of a team to pick up 4 fouls in the first half. The coach will sit hit him after 2 and they won't see no more action until the 2nd half. Since I know the kid with the headband had a foul that wasn't in the book, I assume the foul was placed on the wrong player. I would remove the 4th foul from #15 and give it to the kid with the headband. Team fouls are still equal. Explain it to the other coach as a bookkeeping error. Play ball.