Rocky, just from watching the highlights, I'm pretty sure the TO was requested by the player inbounding the ball. The official who blew the whistle for the TO was the Trail (administering the throw-in), so I don't think he heard a coach's request. In any case, the coach did not seem pleased. The R went to explain it to him.
While I agree that a smart coach (oxymoron?) could manipulate the rule that way, I don't think that's what happened in this particular case. Clemson just got lucky. I think.
Chuck