
Fri Feb 02, 2007, 12:20am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four-Oh
A ruling and a similar play is discussed in J/R (Chapter 10 - Determining a Run, 1.D(1) and Example D/1, p. 82 in my edition). The interpretation given is that the B/R is required to actually touch first base in order for the run to score. It may seem like a deviation from "touch or pass," but it is in line with the actual wording of OBR 4.09 (a) (1). The B/R may well have acquired first, but that's not enough, provided, of course, the defence appeals.
Further, OBR also has an approved ruling to 4.09, whereby a batter who hits an apparent grand slam with two out, but fails to touch first and is, on appeal, called out, ends the half-inning with no runs scoring on the play.
Any other authorities have a different opinion?
Andrew
|
Uh, Andrew, if the ruling is in the official rules then different opinions don't matter.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
|