
Mon Jan 29, 2007, 05:57pm
|
(Something hilarious)
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
6-3-6 ...The tossed ball must be touched by one or both of the jumpers after it reaches its highest point. If the ball contacts the floor without being touched by at least one of the jumpers, the referee shall toss it again.
JR is completely correct. He is making the point that the rule says the jumper must touch the ball for the jump to be legal. This is a positive action by the player. It is not enough for the ball to contact the jumper. That would be a passive action by the player. If the NFHS had wanted the second case to be legal, they would have written "touching or being touched by" as is the case in 4-42-5.
|
Gotcha. Thank you.
|