Thread: Is it possible?
View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2007, 02:24am
NewNCref NewNCref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
An interesting twist on this, however, is what to do if A is up by 4 points and they foul airborn shooter B1 after the horn has sounded; after deciding that the FT's will have no impact on the final score, and thus ruling that the FT's should not be taken, coach from A drops the F-bomb on you? This may be a whole new can of worms that will never happen and could fill an entire thread, but it semi-fits in here? Remember we've already determined that no FT's should be taken on the original foul after the horn when Coach A goes off, so does the T change that ruling? Do we run for the hills as to aviod a possible OT? What to do, what to do?
I have often wondered this myself, and I have always thought that the enforcement philosophy and the rules would dictate the following. The FTs (before the T) would have had no impact on determining the winner, and therefore they are not taken. After the T, however, the FTs have the potential to determine whether or not we have a winner in regulation, or if we must go to overtime to determine a winner. Therefore, we administer the FTs for the shooting foul and the two shots for the T. If any of these shots are missed, the subsequent shots are not taken, as they will not affect the outcome of the game.

I really am not sure if this is right, so some input would be appreciated. Just what has always seemed logical to me.
Reply With Quote