The information that Johnny is looking for and maybe not getting is a critical element of officiating: the whistle and the horn do not make the ball dead. The horn only signals that playing time has expired and once a condition that makes the ball dead occurs the game will be over, except of course in OT or FT situations. So to answer the question, the ball is still live despite the horn sounding. In the case of a live ball not only could a foul be called on a player fouling an airborn shooter, but it could be called away from the shooter as well. It would certainly be a gutsy call, and once the horn sounds not to many players are going to be doing anything other than watching the shot, but if A1 releases a shot, the horn sounds, A2 shoves B1 under the basket, you could have a foul.
Also Mountaineer, you did answer your own question. If there are FT's still to be shot then the FT's for the T would be part of the quarter in which they happened, not OT.
An interesting twist on this, however, is what to do if A is up by 4 points and they foul airborn shooter B1 after the horn has sounded; after deciding that the FT's will have no impact on the final score, and thus ruling that the FT's should not be taken, coach from A drops the F-bomb on you? This may be a whole new can of worms that will never happen and could fill an entire thread, but it semi-fits in here? Remember we've already determined that no FT's should be taken on the original foul after the horn when Coach A goes off, so does the T change that ruling? Do we run for the hills as to aviod a possible OT? What to do, what to do?
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
|