View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2007, 10:38am
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostja
Interesting discussion.

Under FIBA rules there is no such thing as a blarge. So, what do we do if something like that happens? First of all we always make a decision for one foul, block or charge.
I have to contradict you: one thing is the mechanics to be used in "double whistle" cases, another thing are the rules. If one official calls "block" and the other one calls "charge", both fouls should be charged: it is too late to ignore one of the calls.
47.7 Each official has the power to make decisions within the limits of his duties, but has no authority to disregard or question decisions made by the other official(s).
As I have written in another message, it is surely possible that the officials confer in order to make a decision. But they have to sell it very well: for example supplying information that something big has happened that one of the officials couldn't see. In a simple charge/block situation with a blarge call, the officials have to live with their error and charge both fouls.

Remember to always raise your fist on a foul, you'll never be in troubles about blarges.

Ciao
Reply With Quote