View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 10:45am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I guess I could see this if two officials signaled like a "blarge" situation that might be the thing to do. But this is why you hold your whistle and you let the primary official take the call or whoever the play is discussed in your pre-game. I do not see why we are so insistent on saying "if two officials see different things." Do we not have double whistles all the time and take only one of the calls? If this is not the case, then why does this not happen often? There is a reason we only pick one foul because if we did not, then the bridges would be falling if we called what is basically a false double foul on more than one occasion.
We basically agree, and I don't think that Juggling Referee's philosophy is really that much different either. I just didn't think that, either way, you could really make a blanket statement using "always" or "never".

It doesn't happen often, as you said. But I can see a very specific situation where the false double foul might be the right call.
Reply With Quote