Thread: I'm confused
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 19, 2007, 08:48pm
FMadera FMadera is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 768
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by refnrev
Had two situations last night that I think were wrong, but want to double check.
1. Game 1 of 1st match. I'm R and whistle for teams to take the court. U has his wheel and checks the two teams lineups. He is still holding the ball. He checks receving team then serving team. He walks over to coaches and says something. They both shake their heads. He walks over and tells me we have an illegal alignment on S team and it is signaled and point awarded to R team and ball given to opponents for serve. How can you have illegal alignment when you're checking the teams before the start of the game. I thought the whole point was to make sure you have the right players on the court. Doesn't IA have to occur at the moment of serve?
Yep, that one got FUBAR'ed pretty good. Illegal alignment occurs at the moment a serve is legally contacted.

Quote:
2. During game 2 of second match. I'm U. Nice long volley between two teams. Ball drops on home side of the court. No whistle. Coaches look at me and I look at R. He calls me over and asks, "Did you have an 'in the net' on home?" I just look at him and shake my head no. There was no one close to the net and I certainly didn't blow a whistle. He calls for a replay. Shouldn't it have been a point for home? How could you have a replay when the play ended with no violation or foul?
Ah, the "this might have happened, or it might not have, so let's be 'fair' and replay it" replay. Not a big fan of that, as there's no justification for it, and it's just a copout.

Ball is down. No certain net, then no net.

Quote:
I know I'm a little rusty because of the break between HS and MS and have done a lot of basketball in between, but am I just full of prunes on these or were both of these calls wrong?
Sounds like you need to go with your instincts and nurture your partner a little more next time.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote