View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 10:45pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Slider
[/B]
If they extend their arms away from the body when contact is iminent, then it is a block. Plus, the arms must recoil from the impact or it is a block. If they don't want to get "bad" calls, they should have their arms up. [/B][/QUOTE]A defensive player extending their arms away from their body does not automatically make the call a block.The call is dependant on where the contact occurs.If the contact is on the extended arms or elbows,etc.-i.e. outside the frame of the defender's torso-,then you have a foul on the defender.If the contact is by the dribbler on the torso of the defender,you have a charge.The position of the defender's arms has no bearing at all if the dribbler makes contact on the defender's torso,unless the defender uses his arms to push off.As Brad said,if you watch the defender,you can usually pick-up the point-of-contact fairly easily-and then make your call off of that.
Reply With Quote