View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 08:28pm
ozzy6900 ozzy6900 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Your answer is in the FED Case Book.

NHFS Case book 2006


8.1.1 SITUATION F: R1 is on second base. After B2 takes his position in batter's box, F2 clearly reaches out over home plate (a) prior to; (b) after F1 has made a movement that has committed him to pitch; or (c) to receive the pitch.

RULING:
It is catcher obstruction in both (b) and (c), and B2 is awarded first base and R1 is awarded third base only if he was stealing on the pitch. F2 may not catch the pitch until it has passed home plate. In (a), there is no violation provided F2 and his equipment are removed from the area over home plate before pitcher has made a movement that committed him to pitch. (8-3-1 c)





__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy

Last edited by ozzy6900; Thu Jan 11, 2007 at 08:33pm.
Reply With Quote