Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
That rule reference contains the phrase "After coming to a stop ...." In the OP, the player never stopped.
That's why my first response in this thread was to the effect that the only arguement to be had on this case was some overly ANALytical parsing of the rules book.
|
Quote:
A passing lane opens and A1 makes an easy pass to A2 (on their way for an easy lay-up). A2 catches and possess the ball (on the move) with their RIGHT foot on the floor. Then, A2 takes a step with their LEFT foot toward the basket, LIFTING their right foot. (OK so far????)
Then, because A2 is not close enough to the rim for an easy lay up, A2 gets innovative and HOPS on their left foot (the right foot still never touching the floor again). A2 then lays the ball up and in for an easy left side lay-up.
|
The pertinent words in
4-44-3b are [i]"and establishing a pivot foot:"
Once A2 took a step with his LEFT foot he established his RIGHT foot as the pivot and his actions are governed by
4-44-2b and
4-44-3b.