View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 03:49pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by missinglink
Frosh girls. A1 is advancing the ball by walking speed dribble from her right backcourt. She is angling to her left diagonally and crosses the division line in the middle of the center circle. She picks up her dribble on the division line and the ball's last bounce was in frontcourt; right foot is in front court, left foot is in backcourt and neither foot has been made pivot. A1 passes to A2 in backcourt to her left. I called backcourt violation as I judged ball had achieved frontcourt status based on its last bounce and three point principle application ceased upon cessation of advance on dribble. My partner said I got it wrong based upon 3 point principle and I am not so sure now.
The three point principle is that the ball does not achieve frontcourt status on a dribble from bc to fc untill all three points have touched in the frontcourt consecutively. Since she stopped her dribble with one foot in the bc, the ball had never achieved fc status, and still doesn't have it because she still has one foot in the bc. No violation.
Reply With Quote