View Single Post
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 10:54am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
You are incorrect. The higher-up's statement is correct. Anyone can be charged with an unsporting technical foul at any time during the officials' jurisdiction.

But that's NOT what Chess Ref's higher-up said, according to Chess Ref's post. The higher-up made no reference to live ball contact in Chess Ref's post. That was my only point. I didn't want somebody to come in and see that and think, "oh, there are times in the game where I can't call a technical foul?". Of course you can, if it's an unsporting foul.

Again, sorry for confusing you with the obvious. I know what he was getting at and you know what he was getting at. But that doesn't mean that everybody will get it.

You CAN call a technical foul on anyone at anytime during the officials' jurisdiction, if it's an unsporting foul.
Lah me, Scrappy. Chess Ref was responding to Tomegun's very specific question about live-ball contact being a technical foul. That's what Chess Ref asked his higher-up....i.e. "if live-ball contact could be a technical foul". The higher-up's reply to that very specific question was that you could call a technical foul on anybody at any time. Nobody ever mentioned an "unsporting foul" at any time but YOU! Not Chess Ref and not his higher-up. That's the point I'm trying to make. Chess Ref's higher-up is wrong.

You really need to switch from decaf to a man's coffee, like Dan. Might open your eyes.
Reply With Quote