Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
LukeAlex you have no chance of winning this battle. RUN AWAY! I tried to fight this one a little while back, but could not pierce the hard headed armour. Most everybody on here, myself NOT included, will tell you that since it is considered a legitimate attempt at a block that it can't be BI nor a T, no matter how hard the kid shook the backboard. I say even though you thought it was legit attempt at a block and you also thought the basket had a possibility of going in had the backboard and rim not gotten shaken to high hell, that you give the kid the T, and just tell everyone you thought he slapped it intentionally. No one would ever know what you thought. The only thing they could say is they thought he was making a legit block attempt, and in that case who cares what they think. You JUDGED the play like refs are supposed to do and in your judgement he "intentionally" slapped the backboard and are thereby supported by rule. That's just me though.
|
Ben, that is totally wrong and I defy you to find a single D-1 ref you look towards as a mentor to back your opinion.
You are manufacturing a rules interpretation to meet your own personal view instead of following guidelines in the book.
I don't understand your reasoning here. Why would a 'good' official go looking for a reason to call a Tech where one is not warranted by rule.
If you want to call more Techs, then concentrate on some of the unsporting behavior and bench decorum infractions that too many officials let slide by.