View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 07:59pm
jmaellis jmaellis is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Her momentum going out of bounds may be parallel to or at right angles or at any angle to the OOB line that she went out on. When the motion caused by her momentum stops, she's supposed to return back in-bounds from that spot by the shortest route available. If she doesn't, as in continuing on up the OOB line, then it's a technical foul under NFHS rule 10-3-4 for delaying her return after being legally out of bounds. Judgment call. It's never a violation if a player's momentum carries them OOB after a shot, saving a ball, etc. They're legally OOB in those cases.
Got it (thanks to Hawkeyecubp also). I think JR might be testing me; making sure that I F/U by actually looking up the rule. JR, you'll be happy to know that I figured out the rule reference is 10-3-3 not 10-3-4.

So, it's a T if the player does not return to the court via the shortest route available after being legally out of bounds (10-3-3). But it is only a violation for a player to purposely leave the court (I think the common example is a player who gets around a screen by leaving the court and circling around the opponent) (9-3-2).

From a newbie perspective the penalty for the above situations seems like it's flip-flopped. Anybody willing to take the time and enlighten me?
Reply With Quote