Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Catawba is saying that the ONLY possible ruling is that the play is a pass. They are saying that there is never any judgement involved.
|
I don't believe that that is an accurate assessment of their ruling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTRICE
The answer as posted on the Catawba River Basketball Officials Association board:
Answer: The official was correct. Although the situation would have resulted in a three point goal if the ball had passed through the goal, this would have been under the rule (5.2.1) regarding "a thrown ball from the field by a player from behind the team's own 19 foot, 9 inch arc." Since the official ruled the thrown ball to be a pass, by rule (4.12.4) team control did not end. Therefore, Team A, who had control, was the last to touch the ball before it went backcourt and the first to touch after it went backcourt. By rule (Rule 9.9.1) this is a backcourt violation.
|
Clearly Catawba is basing its ruling on the official's decision as to whether this was a pass or a try.
YOU are the one who won't allow for it to be anything other than a try.