Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Especially since if it goes in, instead of bouncing off the rim, we're going to give 3 points.
|
Is that really relevant as to whether we call it a "try" or not?
Casae book play 5.2.1SitB says "A ball that is thrown into a team's own goal from behind the three-point arc scores three points,
regardless of whether the thrown ball was a try or not".
In this case, you got 2 options:
1) If it's a try---> no backcourt violation.
2) If it's not a try ----> backcourt violation.
And....whatever option you pick is based on the calling official's judgement solely. If the ball hits the ring, it's a "try" as far as I'm concerned. I'd have to be a mindreader to rule otherwise, and I don't profess to be
that good.