View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 07:54am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
What if the ball strikes an official straddling the OOB line?
Specifically covered in the rules. The rules don't anticiapte that a fan might interfere (except in the unsporting manner covered in 2-8-1 and 2.8.1) -- especially one who is partially on the court. So, use rule 2-3. I'd be inclined to treat it as an "inadvertant whistle" and, in the specific case mentioned, give the ball back to A.
Reply With Quote