Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
10 seconds on the FT line is a judgment call -as to the official's counting speed. Loss of the coaching box is a simple rule that's been in forever. None of those are correctable.
|
It makes sense to me. The official calls the makes the call at 10 seconds, but the coach belives that the shooter gets 15 seconds. The coach isn't protesting the counting of the official, he is protesting what the official is counting to.
A24 enters the game but in the score book his number is listed as 22. The officials assess the HC with an indirect T and inform him that he has lost the use of the coaching box. There is a whole chart in the back of the rule book saying when the HC is assesd an indirect techincal foul, it isn't very hard to imagine that somone somewhere has messed that up. The coach then pulls out his rule book and shows the officials that he is not assesed an indirect T in that situation.