View Single Post
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 28, 2006, 01:35pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
When a player lands out of bounds before the time-out is granted, by rule it is a violation, because his request did not cause the ball to become dead.
Your granting of of the TO caused the ball to become dead. You granted the TO before the player landed OOB. Granting the TO and sounding your whistle to acknowledge that you did grant the TO are two completely different matters. The time between granting the TO and your actual whistle is regarded as lag time, JAR. It's nothing different than being a split-second late in whistling a foul that you've just recognized. It's impossible to blow your whistle simultaneously with the act that you want to call. None of our reflexs are that good.

You're reading something into the rules that isn't there. It's nothing but a standard, every day call.
Reply With Quote