
Thu Dec 28, 2006, 01:53am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grail
According to the IHSA, the ribbon does not have to be a "band" if it is a hair-control device. If it is decoration, it doesn't matter if it's a band or not, it's not legal.
Direct from the IHSA site:
NFHS Hair-Control Devices and Headbands Clarified (11/16/06)
There have been numerous questions recently relating to the legality of certain hair-control devices. Players may wear rubber bands, scrunchies, pre wrap and narrow, multi-colored elastic bands to hold their hair back (3-5-3d). These items are not considered headbands (3-5-3a) and therefore do not fall under the new headband rule. These items do not have to be the same color as the uniform or white, they can be of any color, they do not have to be a single color and they are not subject to the logo restrictions in 3-6.
Further, a ribbon worn in addition to a hair-control device is considered to be a head decoration, and is prohibited (3-5-3e). If a ribbon is being worn as a hair-control device, it would be permitted provided it is not judged to be dangerous or inappropriate by the referee (3-5-1).
|
That's not the IHSA, that's the NFHS writing that. That ruling is valid in all states that use NFHS rules.
|