Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Are you trying to tell us the official is required by rule to recognize and whistle the TO request *before* A1 lands OOB in this case? "
|
As written, that is the way it is. I was asking if there was something obvious that I had overlooked on this issue, apparently there is not. Why would there not be an article is 6-7 which says that the ball becomes dead when
a player/head coach properly requests a time-out. The only reason I could think of was that a time-out was not meant to be used as a "panic button"
which could be used to avoid a turnover. What about this? I have had a coach realize, a bit too late, that his player was in trouble and request a time-out immediately
after the whistle. In this case what I do is ask
"Do you still want it?" (often they don't) Is that what everybody else does?