I liked how you handled it. I don't think that stopping the play BEFORE the ball was touched in bounds in order to accomplish preventing officiating in this particular situation is beyond the scope of our ability. Obviously it is NOT a correctable error, but it is an avoidable mistake. And I think when we can avoid mistakes (such as too many players on the court) then we should. As officials we are not "accountable" for this mistake (the team ultimately bears responsibility per Rule 10), but I believe this was a good game management move.
|