View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 06:10pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitchfork
Jurassic Referee
I'm talking about senerio #1, end dribble in the air that is clearly in the rule book . No offense JRutledge but I believe Jurassic has it crrect you can end the dribble in the air. Is that a direct quote from the rule book, Jurassic?
NFHS rule 4-44-2a(1):
"A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a(1)-if both feet are off the floor and the player lands simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot".


NFHS rule 4-44-3a:
"After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal".

Those are the applicable rules, pitchfork verbatim. NCAA rules are the same. Iow, the play as described by you is legal.
Reply With Quote