Quote:
Originally Posted by ltllng
Just want to make sure I understand the NFHS rules on this.
4th Quarter - Team B has 6 players on the floor. Somehow the referees do not pick up the problem until 5 seconds is gone from the clock.
Indirect technical is called on the coach. 2 free throws and the ball for team A. Team fouls are increased by one. Coach now has a indirect, thus must sit.
Please confirm our findings. 
|
Not quite right.
1. Having more than five team members participating must be detected while it is being violated in order to be penalized. In your case, it was.
2. The proper penalty is a TEAM technical foul per rule 10-1-6.
3. 2 FTs and the ball at the division line are awarded to the opponent.
4. One team foul is added to the offending team's total for the half that counts towards reaching the bonus for the opponents.
5. The head coach of the offending team is NOT charged with an indirect T and may still use the coaching box.